Novo Nordisk Donnelly Awards offers scholarships
for teen tennis players living with diabetes

 Presentation of the 2016 Novo Nordisk Donnelly Awards. (Photo: CameraworkUSA).   
Novo Nordisk, the leading pharmaceutical company in diabetes care, is proud to be the sponsor of the WTT Donnelly Awards.  Billie Jean King established the awards in 1998 to encourage diabetic children to lead an active life and compete in tennis. The awards provide scholarships to young tennis players living with diabetes and are named after two long-time Mylan World TeamTennis executives and tennis champions, Diane Donnelly Stone and Tracey Donnelly Maltby, who are sisters. Stone was an All-American and NCAA doubles champion at Northwestern University, and Maltby earned All-Big Ten honors at the University of Iowa. Both women have had diabetes since childhood. 

The Novo Nordisk Donnelly Awards annually award $39,000 in scholarships, including two one-time $7,500 scholarships given to two young people, ages 14-21, who have diabetes and play tennis competitively in tournaments or on their school team. Eight regional awards of $3,000 are also granted.  The awards are to be used for education, tennis development and/or medical care.  

The 2016 national recipients are Casey Zhong of Highlands Ranch, Colo. and Izabella Edin of Staples, Minn. Eight regional finalist awards of $3,000 were also granted. Zhong and Edin had the opportunity to attend a Mylan WTT match and meet League co-founder Billie Jean King. 

For more information about the Novo Nordisk Donnelly Awards, please contact Diane Donnelly Stone at 212-586-3444, x120 or

Novo Nordisk is a global healthcare company with more than 90 years of innovation and leadership in diabetes care. This heritage has given us experience and capabilities that also enable us to help people defeat other serious chronic conditions: hemophilia, growth disorders and obesity. With U.S. headquarters in Plainsboro, N.J., Novo Nordisk Inc. has more than 5,000 employees in the United States. For more information, visit or follow us on Twitter: @novonordiskus..    

 Novo Nordisk Donnelly Awards 
- For further information concerning diabetes, please go to

2016 Novo Nordisk Donnelly Award National Winners

Casey Zhong, Highlands Ranch, Colo. 
 National Novo Nordisk Donnelly Award recipient ($7,500)

Zhong is headed into her senior year at Mountain Vista High School in Highlands Ranch, Colo. For the past three years, Zhong has led her team as the No. 1 girls singles player. At 10 years old, Zhong was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes and began playing tennis. Since taking up the sport, Zhong was twice named to the All State team and MVP of her high school team. Casey was a National Zonal team member in the 12, 14 and 16 and under divisions and was a recipient of the sportsmanship award from the Colorado Tennis Association. She has been on the Academic Honor Roll for the past three years and is part of the National Honor Society and Spanish Honor Society. In her free time, she volunteers at Brookdale Nursing Home and the USPTA Wheelchair Tennis Clinic.

Izabella Edin of Staples, Minn.
National Novo Nordisk Donnelly Award recipient ($7,500)

Edin, who attends Saving Grace Christian Academy through home schooling, started playing tennis at 11 years old and decided to play high school tennis at Staples-Motley-Verndale in the fall of 2014 and was soon playing No. 1 singles. During the past season, she was named Section 8A Singles Champion and took 3rd place in the Minnesota State High School Championships. During her first year on varsity in 2014, Edin was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes. Since her diagnosis, Edin has excelled both on and off the court. She was named to the 2016 USTA Leadership team while also being inducted into the National Society of High School Scholars. Izabella was named the winner of the 2015 USTA Northern Jerry Noyce Junior Sportsmanship Award and was selected to participate in the 2016 BJK WTT Junior Nationals in San Diego for the USTA Northern team.   

2016 Novo Nordisk Donnelly Award Regional Recipients ($3,000)

Maddie Barton - Saint George, Utah
Natalie Brown - Grand Rapids, Mich.
Margaret Dolan - Winthrop, Mass.
Heather Luedke - Whitefish, Mont.
Lukas Olson - Ephrata, Pa.
Ashly Pingsterhaus - Anna, Texas
Kacey Stephens - Soddy Daisy, Tenn.
Gregory Welsh - Ambler, Pa.

Past Winners
2015 - Charles Harris and Isabella Shelton
2014 - Zoe Monge and Caden Moortgat
2013 - Daniel Smith and Maddie Maloney
2012 - Patrick Donovant and Katie Wiley
2011 - Elizabeth Profit and Nicole Selvaggio
2010 - Melanie Nolt and Kelsey Aho
2009 - Kayla Cyr and Heather Welch
2008 - Jordan Cox and Jennifer Heumann
2007 - Kristen Wade and Andrew Rogers
2006 - Rose Cantlin and Matthew Kranich
2005 - Danni Paulson and Madison Golightly
2004 - Travis Fillmore and Mitchell Fender
2003 - Julia Kozin and Jimmy Myers
2002 - Lindsay Hammes and Dash Connell
2001 - Katie Arneson and Adam Brown
2000 - Haley Edmiston and Drew Silow
1999 - Sharon Reske and Carrie Goldhahn
1998 - Meredith Britton and PJ Goldfeder

© 2017 All rights reserved