Bryans Win Fourth Successive Title
Rojer Captures Second Crown In 2014


April 14, 2014
Bob and Mike Bryan (San Diego Aviators) will carry a 17-match win streak heading into the European clay-court swing after capturing their fourth title in a row.
The top-ranked pair on the ATP World Tour rallied past David Marrero and Fernando Verdasco 4-6, 6-4, 11-9 in Sunday’s Houston final to claim their fifth crown at the Fayez Sarofim & Co. U.S. Men’s Clay Court Championship. In winning the trophy, the Bryans are three team titles away from becoming the first pair to reach 100 at the tour level.
“We're ecstatic to leave Houston with another title,” Mike told the ATP website. “We've played great tennis in the past and played another this week. That was just a gritty performance against a tough team.”
Tecau, RojerThe American twins weren’t the only Mylan WTT stars to take home hardware. Reigning Mylan WTT Male MVP Jean-Julien Rojer (Springfield Lasers) and Horia Tecau collected their second trophy in the first year of their partnership.
Rojer and Tecau dismissed Tomasz Bednarek and Lukas Dlouhy 6-2, 6-2 at the Grand Prix Hassan II in Casablanca. It was an important event for Rojer and Tecau, as they ended a four-match losing streak en route to the title and did not drop a set in the process.
“We are very happy with this title,” said Rojer. “Horia played a great match today and I hope that we can come back and defend the title next year.”
On the women’s side, Boston Lobsters newcomer Sharon Fichman reached the doubles semifinals in Bogota with Alexandra Panova. The two were defeated by No. 1 seeds Vania King and Chanelle Scheepers 7-6(4), 6-2.
Photo: El Khaoua