WTT Junior Nationals

Many of the nation’s most promising junior tennis players compete in the WTT Junior Nationals.  This tournament is a premier national junior invitational event featuring 16 co-ed teams from throughout the U.S.  The teams use the WTT format during their three days of non-elimination draw competition.  In addition to the competition, players also participate in seminars and a clinic hosted by event host and WTT co-founder Billie Jean King.  The 16 teams receive grants of $500 each. The 2015 event will run July 27-30 at the George E. Barnes Tennis Center in San Diego, Calif.

2014 EVENT:
2014 WTT Junior Nationals was held July 28 - 31 at the George E. Barnes Tennis Center in San Diego, Calif.  Barnes Bashers (pictured above) defeated USTA Texas Wild 45-29 to win a record 6th title in 2014. Click here to read a recap of all the action. For information about Junior Nationals or other Mylan WTT Rec League programs, call 866-PLAY WTT or contact Delaine Mast at


Team members are selected based on their sectional and national rankings, but are NOT eligible if they attained a ranking of 1-150 on the USTA Seed Selection List as of May 14, 2014. The targeted junior players are 14-18 years of age.

Tournament matches follow the WTT non-elimination draw format. The 16 co-ed teams are divided into 4 groups.




July 28 - July 31, 2014 – George E. Barnes Tennis Center in  San Diego , Calif.                                      


2014 World TeamTennis Junior Nationals hosted by Billie Jean King - TEAMS
CHAMPIONSHIP FINAL:  Barnes Bashers def. Texas Wild 45-29
3rd place: Intermountain 1 Hit Wonders def. San Diego Attackers 43-38
5th place: Midwest Trees def. Southwest Coyotes 44-32
7th place: Central Coast Crushers def. The Avengers 47-30
9th place: Northern Lights def. Pittsburgh Triangles 38-28
11th place: Sparetime Jr. Academy def. Eastern Aces 40-30
13th place: OC Lightning def. Hawaii Lanakila 45-37
15th place: Bakersfield Heat def. Smooth Strokes 39-25

Read the final release





The Maureen Connolly Brinker Team Spirit Award was presented to Lanakila (pictured above) at the 2014 WTT Junior Nationals for exemplifying sportsmanship & camaraderie.

Check out the Katherine Willette Leadership Scholarship Page