Novo Nordisk Donnelly Awards

Novo Nordisk, the leading pharmaceutical company in diabetes care, is proud to be the sponsor of the Donnelly Awards. Billie Jean King established the awards in 1998 to encourage diabetic children to lead an active life and compete in tennis. The awards provide scholarships to young tennis players living with diabetes and are named after two long-time World TeamTennis executives, sisters, and tennis champions, Diane Donnelly Stone and Tracey Donnelly Maltby. Stone was an All-American and NCAA doubles champion at Northwestern University, and Maltby earned All-Big Ten honors at the University of Iowa. Both women have had diabetes since childhood.

The Novo Nordisk Donnelly Awards annually award $39,000 in scholarships, including two one-time $7,500 scholarships given to two young people, ages 14-21, who have diabetes and play tennis competitively in tournaments or on their school team. Eight regional awards of $3,000 are also granted. The awards are to be used for education, tennis development and/or medical care.

The 2017 national recipients are Jenna Vroman of Daniel Island, S.C., and Connor Genschaw of Grand Rapids, Mich. Vroman and Genschaw had the opportunity to attend a WTT match and meet League co-founder Billie Jean King.

For more information about the Novo Nordisk Donnelly Awards, please contact Diane Donnelly Stone at 212-586-3444, x.120.

Novo Nordisk is a global healthcare company with more than 90 years of innovation and leadership in diabetes care. This heritage has given us experience and capabilities that also enable us to help people defeat other serious chronic conditions: hemophilia, growth disorders and obesity. With U.S. headquarters in Plainsboro, N.J., Novo Nordisk Inc. has more than 5,000 employees in the United States. For more information, visit

Novo Nordisk Donnelly Awards Application & Criteria

2018 Application - closes April 1, 2018

2018 Criteria

2017 Novo Nordisk Donnelly Awards National Winners
Connor Genschaw, Grand Rapids, MI

Genschaw will be a senior this fall at Forest Hills High School in Grand Rapids. The 17-year-old has been playing tennis since the age of 9, which is also when he was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. He has played No. 1 singles since his freshman year, leading his team to the State Championship in 2014 and 2015; and a runner-up finish in 2016. Genschaw, who is ranked No. 70 in the Boys’ 18s – Midwest, is currently competing in national 18s tournaments. He was named to the Michigan High School Athletic Association’s All-State and All-Conference teams for three years. Genschaw is also a member of the National Honor Society and the 2013 recipient of the USTA Midwest Sports Award.

Jenna Vroman, Daniel Island, SC

Vroman was seven years old when she first started playing tennis and was diagnosed as diabetic. Now 18, she has been the No. 1 player for four years at Bishop England High School in Charleston, S.C. Vroman led Bishop England to the state title in 2014, 2015 and 2016. She was ranked as high as No. 3 in South Carolina in the Girls 18s, and No. 34 in the Southeast rankings. Vroman was named to the All-State team for three consecutive years (2014-16) and was also named Low County Player of the Year in 2016. She will play Division I tennis for Wofford College in Spartanburg, S.C., this fall. Off the court, Vroman was a National Honor Society member from 2015-17.

2017 Novo Nordisk Donnelly Awards Regional Winners

Ellyse Kealy of Chicago

Carsten Balao of Windermere, Fla.

Constandina Ciulla of Las Vegas

Rebecca DeLong of Moreno Valley, Calif.

Paulina Garcia of San Antonio, Texas

Benjamin Kindberg of Lewis Center, Ohio

Kenneth Maly of Fenton, Mich.

Bailey White of Huntington, Md.

Past National Winners

2016 - Casey Zhong and Izabella Edin

2015 - Charles Harris and Isabella Shelton

2014 - Zoe Monge and Caden Moortgat

2013 - Daniel Smith and Maddie Maloney

2012 - Patrick Donovant and Katie Wiley

2011 - Elizabeth Profit and Nicole Selvaggio

2010 - Melanie Nolt and Kelsey Aho

2009 - Kayla Cyr and Heather Welch

2008 - Jordan Cox and Jennifer Heumann

2007 - Kristen Wade and Andrew Rogers

2006 - Rose Cantlin and Matthew Kranich

2005 - Danni Paulson and Madison Golightly

2004 - Travis Fillmore and Mitchell Fender

2003 - Julia Kozin and Jimmy Myers

2002 - Lindsay Hammes and Dash Connell

2001 - Katie Arneson and Adam Brown

2000 - Haley Edmiston and Drew Silow

1999 - Sharon Reske and Carrie Goldhahn

1998 - Meredith Britton and PJ Goldfeder