WTT Junior Nationals

Many of the nation’s most promising junior tennis players compete in the WTT Junior Nationals. This tournament is a premier national junior invitational event featuring 16 co-ed teams from throughout the U.S. The teams use the WTT format during their three days of non-elimination draw competition. In addition to the competition, players also participate in seminars and a clinic hosted by event host and WTT co-founder Billie Jean King. The 16 teams receive grants of $500 each.

2018 EVENT: The 2018 WTT Junior Nationals will be held July 23-26 at the George E. Barnes Tennis Center in San Diego, Calif. REGISTER NOW!

For information about Junior Nationals and other WTT Community Tennis programs, call 866-PLAY WTT or contact Delaine Mast, National Director WTT Community Tennis, at dmast@wtt.com.

In 2017, On The Rise outlasted instate rival California Coast Crushers in a 46-27 victory to claim the title (read more).

Team members are selected based on their sectional and national rankings, but are NOT eligible if they attained a ranking of 1-150 on the USTA Seed Selection List as of May 10, 2018. The targeted junior players are 14-18 years of age.

Tournament matches follow the WTT non-elimination draw format. The 16 co-ed teams are divided into 4 groups.

2017 JUNIOR NATIONALS RESULTS (view press release)

July 23 - July 26, 2017 – George E. Barnes Tennis Center in San Diego, CA

1. On The Rise

2. California Coast Crushers

3. Midwest Racquet Club of Columbus (RCC)

4. Intermountain

5. Team Eastern

6. Bay Area Aces

7. Middle States Super Stars

8. San Diego Attackers

9. Northern Lights

10. Team Hawaii

11. Ballers with Attitude

12. Southwest Scorpions

13. Orange County Breakers

14. Team Defiant

15. Stars and Stripes

16. Purple Tennis Nation

The Maureen Connolly Brinker Team Spirit Award

The Maureen Connolly Brinker Team Spirit Award is presented to the one team in the WTT Junior Nationals that exemplifies Maureen Connolly’s legendary love of the game, her competitive spirit, her commitment to fair play and her respect and high regard for others. The Maureen Connolly Brinker Tennis Foundation provides a $1,000 grant to be used for travel expenses for the team that wins the Maureen Connolly Brinker Team Spirit Award.

Team Hawaii (pictured above) won the Maureen Connolly Brinker Team Spirit Award in 2017 which is voted on by coaches, players and tournament officials for a team’s outstanding sportsmanship and camaraderie.

Katherine Willette Leadership Scholarship

In 2009, World TeamTennis started a new scholarship program to recognize Katherine Willette, who has helped run the WTT Junior Nationals in San Diego for over fifteen years. The scholarship annually awards $500 to one male and one female attendee of WTT Junior Nationals. Winners are chosen based on essays they submit which demonstrate a variety of lessons learned, friendships made, and the impact of the coed team format on the individual player and his or her team.

Two players from the 2017 World TeamTennis Junior Nationals, Kristine Pau, 18, of San Francisco, and David Ammendola, 17, of Massapequa, N.Y., were awarded the Kathy Willette Leadership Scholarship after writing about a life-changing experience from taking part in the tournament. Read their essays here.

Kristine Pau and David Ammendola.